Davos 2018 To Be Co-Chaired by 7 Women

                       by David Parmer / Tokyo

Setting a new precedent, the 48th annual meeting of the World Economic Forum to be held in Davos-Klosters, Switzerland from January 23-26, will be chaired by seven prominent women including the IMF’s Christine Lagarde, Norway’s PM Erna Solberg and IBM CEO Ginni Rometty. This dramatic change has been brought about to redress what has been perceived as a lack of female representation at the event.

Began in 1971, the annual event features business leaders, economists, politicians and heads of state and leaders in the field of technology among others. Discussions focus on several agendas including:

  • Global agenda
  • Geopolitical agenda
  • Economic agenda
  • Industry and business agenda
  • Future agenda

According to the WEF, “The 48th World Economic Forum Meeting therefore aims to rededicate leaders from all walks of life to develop a shared narrative to improve the state of the world.” This year’s theme will be, “Creating A Shared Future in a Fractured World.”Attendees are expected to number around 3,000 people including 50 heads of state. The other four co-chairs of the meeting are:

  • Isabella Kocher   Head of Energie.PA
  • Fabiola Gianotti   Head of CERN
  • Chetna Sinha       Founder of Mann Deshi Bank
  • Sharan Burrow    General Secretary TUC

Photo: World Economic Forum via flickr

WEF, Davos 2018